The Art of Home Education – * – Invision Education

Let the journey be shaped by the curiousity of the child…

Review: Dragon Box App

After reading this article regarding the Dragon Box App I got really excited and I had to check it out to see if it would be interesting for Maximan.

We have the availability of an IPad at home and I got the app from the App Store. The article has links to the different platform stores where you can download it. You do have to pay for this app. There is an age 5+ version and an age 12+ version. The latter costs around 9 euros and has more options.

DragonBoxAlgebra5+First of all, I do like maths. I really like it a lot. That’s probably what triggered my curiosity. I downloaded the 5+ version. I did like the design but I know it will be a bit boring for Maximan. The app is called Dragon Box, so I know Maximan is expecting dragons and he will be disappointed how the dragons are presented. It starts with an egg and every time you finish a puzzle/equation the dragon is fed with the leftovers. That what will go in the box. And than the dragon grows. That is boring for a boy who loves dragons and dinosaurs.

I do like the way the concepts of algebra (mathematics) are presented. Very playfully in a conceptual way. It gives the player of the game the possibility to grasps the structures of algebra. After playing all the levels, you understand all the structures and you can apply (add, subtract, multiply, divide) it to anything. It starts with using images as a calculation object and than transferring it to letters and finally to numbers. It is abstract in a fun way and I can’t wait how Maximan will experience this game. Still wondering about the dragons though.

I noticed on the site that they offer a 7-day trial version for the 12+ version for teachers. Just in case you’re interested.

5 comments on “Review: Dragon Box App

  1. Angela van Maurik
    July 10, 2013

    Ik heb m ook gekocht dankzij jou. … ben benieuwd! Xxx

  2. Natalie
    July 10, 2013

    I heard a lot of good things about this app and want to try it out with my 6 year math whiz. I think it’s going to be right up her alley to raise a dragon 🙂

  3. Pingback: The 60+ best educational apps for our kids (iPad) | The Art of Home Education - * - Invision Education

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on July 10, 2013 by in Maths and tagged , , .