The Art of Home Education – * – Invision Education

Let the journey be shaped by the curiousity of the child…

You are an awesome mom

For my friend who has three young kids

I guess I don’t say it often enough but I think you are an awesome mom. Your kids are 1, 3 and 5 and all the things you do and share makes me feel like I am not doing enough. Well, I am not that hard on myself. I know I am doing the best I can I just see you and think WOW, look at her. Look at all the thinks she does. Homeschooling her three littlies, having a puppy, having her own business, studying, trying to sell her house, designing a new house, creating a community, and I probably am forgetting a ton of things that you are doing too. And the biggest thing I am so proud of that you are doing is, you are sharing your ups and downs. For me it feels like you are not afraid to show your vulnerability. Where I feel like I always have to be this supermom, for me it feels like you are okay with being you. And at the same time I know that it is not true. Because when I read your post I also read that you need your support, just like I do. And so I like to tell you that in my eyes I think you are awesome, you are an inspiration and it is okay to be little too besides being super.

I think it is great that you have meltdowns in front of your kids. I know I have them. I think it shows our kids that we are human too and it teaches our kids how we cope with them. It teaches our kids that it is okay to be human. It is okay to ask for help and it is okay not to know everything. Isn’t that the whole idea of life and of community, the idea of “it takes a village to raise a child”? That we can do it together?

I started a course this Spring which was called “The Art of Self-Empathy” about Non Violent Communcation. The lady who was guiding the course said that in the process of learning to be non violent 20% of the communication is initially non violent and 80% of the communication is repairing the other communication. I noticed this to be true and realized that I had been really hard on me and judging me and maybe, my friend, this could be true for you too. You are doing the best you can and your littlies are challenging you every day, teaching you every day. Healing the child in you every day, don’t forget your child in you.

And… You are perfect just the way you are!

It was never a dress

2 comments on “You are an awesome mom

  1. Priscilla
    September 4, 2015

    Thank you so so much. Tears are running down my face. Is this me? I so often feel like I am failing, and you are describing a superwoman. I am so proud I have friends that feel this way about me and dare to speak their mind. Love! ♡♡♡

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 4, 2015 by in Just something on my mind.