The Art of Home Education – * – Invision Education

Let the journey be shaped by the curiousity of the child…

Montessori DIY Golden 1000 Cube

Maximan has been busy with numbers and counting. If something looks like a lot, he calls it “incountable (niet te tellen)”.

First, I started searching on the internet for the decimal system, hoping I would find an affordable one. Which, unfortunately I didn’t. I did find a great printable and decided to make everything myself. It took me a couple of hours to make everything.

I made golden beads to help him see and feel numbers. How much is 10, 20, 100, 200, 1000, 3769, etc. I made 100 unit beads, 45 bars of 10, 10 squares of 100 (I did 10 on purpose so he can make 1-4000), 1 cube of 1000. I used this printable from Wikisori”.

Printable from Wikisori

This set I made is a concrete representation of the decimal system from 1 to 1000, demonstrating place value and the concept that a decimal category cannot exceed nine.

I printed out 19 pages of the printable. I laminated them and I cut out 10 cubes of 1000 (and folded them into a cube. From the remaining sheets I made 45 squares if 100, 45 bars of 10 and 100 units.

DIY Golden Beads

All I needed to make this was the printable from Wikisori, laminator, laminator pouches, foam board which I got from the Dollar Tree, pennies to add weight to the cubes, scissors and tape (glue didn’t work). And all of this to show Maximan how much a 100 and a 1000 is.

DIY Golden Beads

DIY Golden Beads

DIY Golden Beads

We will use this together with our numbers and the stamping game.
IMG_1737-0

 

 

Disclaimer: This page contains affiliated links, which helps us to continue this website and to afford homeschooling. Using those links will cost you nothing extra.

9 comments on “Montessori DIY Golden 1000 Cube

  1. Danielle
    May 29, 2015

    Did you say you laminated the cubes, and you were still able to fold them? Or did Imis understand?

  2. Pingback: Our Program | The Art of Home Education - * - Invision Education

  3. Bee
    April 19, 2016

    Thank you for taking pictures of this idea. Where did you get the 100 square printable?

    • The Art of Home Education
      April 19, 2016

      I used the same printable from Wikisori that I used for the cube to make the 100 square. One side is 100.

  4. Judy
    June 3, 2016

    Hi, Thank you for the great ideas, how are you mange to laminate the unit??
    did you just cut it after you laminate the hundred? or you cut it before you laminate it??

    • Hi Judy, I am so sorry for my late reply. I have been MIA for a while with the new baby and all. I first laminated everything and than cutted everything. The cube, I used a knife to made a small fold line, to make it easier to fold. Let me know how it goes.

      • Judy
        June 14, 2016

        Hi, congrats for the new baby =)
        thank you for your reply~ I managed to finish the units and tens =)

      • Wonderful!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 7, 2015 by in Maths, Resources and tagged , , , , , .