The Art of Home Education – * – Invision Education

Let the journey be shaped by the curiousity of the child…

What happened? I had an accident.

Don’t read this if you don’t like doctor shows, like Grey’s Anatomy. This is what happened to me last Friday.

Last Friday, early in the morning. It was still dark so it might be around 5. Miniman started crying and normally Dad gets up to get him. On this particular Friday, after Thanksgiving, I decided to get up. To give Dad a little more time to sleep, before he had to start working. Man, that failed big time!

I went out of bed, did a small step to Miniman’s bed and wanted to go back. After that point, everything is a blur. I don’t know why, but I smacked my face into a wall. I felt pain and made noise. Probably crying, I don’t know. Dad woke up, turned on the light and saw blood. He told me to go to the bathroom. I think I gave Miniman to him or he just got him from my arms. Miniman was safe and okay.

I walked to the bathroom, all dizzy and in pain. I just didn’t know what had happened. I saw blood and wiped it with a towel, while being on my knees. Dad told me he just entered the bathroom and could catch me before I smacked my face on the bathtub. He saw my eyes rolling and I lost consciousness.

This all happened in 5 minutes.

When I heard Dad’s voice again it felt like I have been lying on the cold bathroom floor for hours. I was there but I wasn’t. Sometimes I was alone. Dad had to walk upstairs for a better reception and called 911. After he had made that call, he came back and talked to me, asked me to answer him. Ar first he sounded so far away and than I got really cold. My body started shivering, so so cold. Dad went away again to get blankets.

When he came back there were more people, asking me questions. I could hardly speak. Everything was hurting, my face, my mouth, my teeth, my nose, my head, my neck (Oh no! Not my neck!), my back and my fingers on my right hand. The people that had entered were fire fighters. It felt like I have been lying on this cold floor for hours, everything went so slow. I heard Dad say that it had happened 5 to 10 minutes ago. I couldn’t believe it.

The firemen and -woman carried me outside where I was transferred to a gurney. They pushed the gurney into the ambulance. And I was on my way to the hospital.

In the ambulance I had gotten an IV with pain medication and something for nausea. When we got to the hospital, well when I got to the hospital, Dad wasn’t there yet, I was asked more questions. And I couldn’t really tell what had happened. I smacked my face into a wall, but how?

The doctor ordered a CAT scan and a couple of xray’s. Luckily, everything turned out fine. Nothing is broken, only bruced. And at the end of the morning I could go home.

I still don’t understand what happened. Did I have a blackout when I went to get up to get Miniman. What made me turn in the way of the wall, which is further away. I don’t understand and it scares me not to know what had happened.

Again, I have a healing process in front of me. Again, I have to take it slow. I just got a little back on my feet. I am so tired of it.

I am not posting a photo here of how I look. It is just aweful. If you do want to see a photo, I did post one on Instagram. It is sideways on purpose.

The last three days where tough. I could hardly eat or drink. I couldn’t close my mouth. But I am happy for today, I can drink with a straw. Thinking positive!

3 comments on “What happened? I had an accident.

  1. crunchygoddess
    December 2, 2014

    Thinking of you and sending you peace and healing vibes. The doctors had no explanation for what may have caused it? Hope you are feeling much better soon. Big hugs.

  2. Maureen
    December 10, 2014

    That sounds so scary. I hope you and your doctor(s) can figure out what caused it soon and you will recover quickly.

  3. Pingback: The World in my Head | The Art of Home Education - * - Invision Education

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 2, 2014 by in Just something on my mind.