The Art of Home Education – * – Invision Education

Let the journey be shaped by the curiousity of the child…

On the road to…

… something new.

We have been here for four weeks now. Miniman is already 12 weeks old and slowly we are getting settled in. We are still camping in our house, sitting on the floor. (Couch will arrive tomorrow!) And I can imagine that someday, when we look back, this would have been a great time. “Do you remember mom, those first weeks? When we were camping in the house? How much fun it was?”

Anyway, right now I am just stupid tired. I miss my mom and dad and I do talk to them frequently. We Skype! I miss my brother, sister-in-law and their children and I miss my friends. I miss having the opportunity to hang with my family and friends, to hug and kiss them. I am glad there is Skype and Facetime. Ten years ago, when I was living in Italy, it was very different from today. However, I do miss the real-life contact.

Do you know the movie “Yes Man”? I feel like a kind of Yes Man at the moment. I feel a need, an obligation, to get out there, for my children, for myself. So that is what I am doing right now. Or at least I try.
I almost applied for a parttime job at the fire station. And although it is a good cause, I am glad I didn’t go through with it because I have enough on my plate as it is.

It feels so weird. Being here and all. My health is improving due to the climate. At the same time I feel sad inside and those feelings go back and forth. Because I feel I don’t have a right to be sad because this was our choice.
Today I thought of our house back home and of the bed we got for Maximan and it brought tears to my eyes. Giving him that bed was such a special moment and now… We didn’t bring that bed. But it is not about that bed. We had a life there and now everything is different.
My friend told me some words of wisdom her mother-in-law shared with her. That it takes around three years to get adjusted. The first year you don’t know anyone and you’re tired. You have to get settled, get to know people. That was year one. The second year is a bit better, you already know some people and can make a start with living your life again. The third year you can say you are settled. You know people, you know your way around, you can have a nice evening again.

I am happy for all the new technology, like Facebook, Skype, Facetime… And I’m looking forward when my brother comes here for a visit. In the meantime, I’ll keep you posted. This whole adventure thing is huge!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 7, 2014 by in Just something on my mind and tagged , , , , , , , , , .