The Art of Home Education – * – Invision Education

Let the journey be shaped by the curiousity of the child…

Luke’s Beach Day – Review and Giveaway

With special thanks to Kids Yoga Stories for sponsoring this giveaway.

image

Entering the giveaway

If you like to enter this giveaway. Leave a comment with one cool quote from your child. You probably have tons. Am I right?
You can enter from July 24th – August 10th. Don’t forget to follow our blog. The winner will be drawn on August 11th and will be notified by e-mail and on our Facebook page: The Art of Home Education.

What did Maximan and I think of Luke’s Beach Day?

The first impression of Maximan after seeing this book was: “Mom, this looks like fun. Can we read it, please?!!!” He had to wait till the afternoon. And we had so much fun reading it. The story took us on an Australian adventure with all the different animals and it is not an “sit still and listen book”. No, it is a book with fun yoga exercises. Well, Maximan doesn’t know anything about yoga yet. But for the both of us it was great to have such an interactive experience while reading a story. It gives an extra dimension to the story. It makes the story come alive. Maximan even gave another twist to story.

I also love the environmental part in the story, which is not forced on us at all. But comes very natural.

There is an extra advantage to this book. As a mom to two young children and a third on the way and homeschooling, there is not much me-time at the moment. Which means, I don’t have time or don’t make time to work out. With this book, you work out, while you are having fun with your children. I must admit, we read this book two days ago. Meaning, Maximan and I did all these exercises two days ago and my muscles are still sore. I know, I need to work out more or I need to read Maximan more of these books! I do know which option Maximan would prefer.

Thanks again Kids Yoga Stories for sponsoring this giveaway.

About Giselle Shardlow from Kids Yoga Stories

Giselle ShardlowI hold a Masters of International Education with eight years of experience teaching grades K-5 in Guatemala, Australia, Canada and United States.

I am also a certified yoga instructor and have led yoga classes here and there to young children since 2005, the year I started writing these stories. When I was asked to teach my first kids yoga class, I dove into research and was surprised at how few resources there were for a kids yoga instructor. So, I wrote my own.

I have always been passionate about working with children and throughout my world travels, I recognized a great need to address child illiteracy, obesity and stress.

My goal is to write stories that make reading fun – combined with movement, the stories thoroughly engage children as they laugh, express themselves, and stretch their imagination.

I hope that my books and other creative resources for kids are easy ways to introduce children everywhere to how fun reading and good health can be!

My Mission for Kids Yoga Stories is to bring education, health and happiness to young children everywhere.

17 comments on “Luke’s Beach Day – Review and Giveaway

  1. Marcie M.
    July 24, 2013

    This book looks like a lot of fun. My son told his daddy he wasn’t running AMOK he was sitting on his AMOK!

  2. Sissi Pfaar
    July 24, 2013

    We ADORE children’s books over here! And I am trying to get my little one more into yoga. I bet he’d really love this. (as would I)
    As for the quote, my son says lots of crazy things…
    A few weeks ago he overheard someone say that god creates people, so a while later he came and said: “Mommy, I want to watch a video on youtube where they film god create people. I want to know how he makes us.”

    Or: My son is growing up with dutch and english. The dutch word for a lazy person or a person who is relaxing is very similar to the dutch word for diaper, so yesterday he was going around telling people that they were diapers because they were relaxing in the sun.

  3. Dianne
    July 25, 2013

    When my son was around 10 (he’s now 15), his sister said to him – “Oh gross, Nathan, you have cat breath”. Nathan’s response was “Guilty, I ate a cat.” It still makes me laugh.

  4. Amy G
    July 28, 2013

    My daughter is just now 2.5 years, so we don’t have that many quotes yet. But, she is quite verbal and typically catches on to new words quickly. One word she just can’t seem to get, however, is “hammer” she always says “hamburger.” So, she’ll try to explain to people how to do a big project and tell them that they need to bring their “hamburger and saw.”

  5. Pingback: Week Window | The Art of Home Education - * - Invision Education

  6. Pingback: Kids Yoga StoriesYour Kids Yoga Book for Summer - Luke's Beach Day » Kids Yoga Stories

  7. Sonja Gortzak
    August 2, 2013

    Mommy, when I am bigger and you are small I will poo on the toilet and you can where a diaper….oh how right you are my son;-)

  8. Pingback: Week Window | The Art of Home Education - * - Invision Education

  9. MamaNatuurlijk
    August 9, 2013

    Wij doen op de valreep ook gezellig mee.

    Liefs MamaNatuurlijk

  10. The Art of Home Education
    August 11, 2013

    I loved all the cool quotes. So I let Maximan decide. The winner is the one with this cool quote: “Mommy, when I am bigger and you are small I will poo on the toilet and you can where a diaper.”

    Sonja Gortzak, you and your son are the winners of this Giveaway!

  11. Pingback: Contact | The Art of Home Education - * - Invision Education

Leave a Reply

