The Art of Home Education – * – Invision Education

Let the journey be shaped by the curiousity of the child…

Sick of being sick

A thought just crossed my mind. If, a big if, if being sick is a state of mind. Can you by changing the way you think, the way you perceive things, change the way you experience being sick. And maybe, in that way, change the way of being sick at all. It was just a thought after having the flue for probably the third time this year.

I went to see the doctor and he advised me too really take it easy and rest a lot. I’m bordering to an pneumonia. With two young children at home and homeschooling, I can’t be sick. Apart from the fact that I don’t want to be sick.

Anyway, back to the thought that entered my mind. Can I change the way I’m experiencing the flue? If I’m able to, in any way, embrace this painful cough, the muscle ache, the head ache, the shortness of breath. I know I want to, but at the same time I don’t know how. Anyone?

I will let you know when I figured it out.

3 comments on “Sick of being sick

  1. Sonja Gortzak-Hughes
    June 20, 2013

    All of those symptoms are signs your body is working hard, I am in a similar situation, different virus. I try to cheer my body on to do this hard job it needs to do. I try to tell it that I believe in it and know it can do it. And then I try to rest so it csn do what needs to be done. it doesn’t need mh concious mind for help with that. it probably is better off without it:-)

    • Thanks. I haven’t thought of that. Part of my “wanting to be in control” and not trusting. Funny, I never looked at it that way. I have been resting all week and I am starting to feel a bit better. Right now I’m just following my instincts.
      I hope you are feeling a bit better. Big hug

  2. Sonja Gortzak-Hughes
    June 20, 2013

    Good luck of course!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 17, 2013 by in Just something on my mind and tagged , .