The Art of Home Education – * – Invision Education

Let the journey be shaped by the curiousity of the child…

Wheel of the Year

To explain our calender to our Maximan I drew the Wheel of the Year on his blackboard.

We belief that there is no real beginning or end to a year. That life runs in cycles. The Pagan calender of Sabbats and Esbats reflect this belief. However, for convenience among friends and family who are not Pagans, we do celebrate new year. And for our own convenience we mark Samhain as the ending of one year and the beginning of another.

The Annual Holidays – The Sabbats

The Sabbats, or Solar Celebrations, occur at the Beginning and middle of each season. The wheel of the Year, shown above, lists the eight Sabbats. The Wheel is normally read clockwise from the top.

Yule, Ostara, Litha, and Mabon shift their dates slightly from year to year. This is because they occur on the Solar Equinoxes and Solstices. The Equinoxes are the beginning of Spring and Autumn. These are the days of the year when day and night are of equal length. Summer Solstice has the longest day of the year. Winter Solstice has the longest night.

Dates of the Sabbats in the Pagan Calender from 2012
Dates that Stay the Same Every Year
Imbolc Beltane Lammas Samhain
2012-2020 February 2 May 1 July 30 October 31
Dates that Change from Year to Year
Ostara Litha Mabon Yule
2012 March 20 June 20 September 22 December 21

Monthly Rituals – The Esbats

In addition to the Solar Celebrations, We hold rituals under the Full Moon. These are called Esbats. We keep these generally more private, more to ourselves, than the Sabbats.

Dates of the Esbats in 2012
January 9 February 7 March 8 April 6 May 6
June 4 July 3 August 2 August 31 September 30
October 29 November 28 December 28


This entry was posted on October 18, 2012 by in Paganism, Seasons.